BOOKSTORE

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE AND ABUSE BOOK RESOURCES

Tied to Terror

Jessica was a dedicated  woman to  both God and her handsome husband Blake.  Raised in the 70’s to be  submissive  in  the  traditions of the Bible belt, and sheltered from the world outside,  she becomes a prisoner of that tradition.

Deceived, betrayed, and routinely ignored she settles as lifelong dreams fade and systemically fall apart. Add  children  to  the  mix  and  life becomes more unstable as insecurity, tension,  and  terror grasp her by  the  throat.  But  in  a  revelation of truth she comes to grip with her reality, and plans her escape.

Tied to Terror will transport the reader through numerous mysteries, volatile lies, and extraordinary deception as the secrets of Jessica’s life unravel. She then risks everything to bring about an ending that is both revealing, and exquisitely glorious.

LLOYD’s emotionally rich debut novel is suspenseful, revealing, and deeply moving from start to finish.

when-love-goes-wrong

When Love Goes Wrong: What to Do When You Can’t Do Anything Right                                                by Ann Jones, Susan Schechter

Millions of women each year find themselves in relationships with controlling or abusive partners and don’t know what to do, or even what’s wrong. A woman may feel anxious, inadequate, intimidated — and as if she is walking on tiptoe. And she may find herself trying harder and harder to make things right without ever being successful. Ann Jones and Susan Schechter bring together their more than fifteen years of experience working with women in abusive relationships to offer an eyeopening new analysis of controlling partners and a wealth of empowering information for women who want to change their lives for the better.

Televenge by Pamela King Cable  Televenge is 

…an emotional rollercoaster that ends as intensely as it begins…those who commit Cable’s tome will find themselves captivated and deeply devoted to Andie. Fans of Fannie Flagg and Janet Evanovich will be hooked on this saga of religion, romance, and come.” –Shannon Marie Robinson, Library Journal.

Televenge is a detailed, expertly plotted mystery/suspense/romance; a gripping tale of a young woman, Andie Oliver, trying to keep faith in her handsome husband, Joe, and their marriage. As Joe spends more time with a local Televangelist, the Godfather in a Mafia of holy men, her faith is shaken and her suspicion of the Reverend Calvin Autry deepens. As this brilliantly paced novel unfolds, Andie is tested in every way a woman can be, until she decides to fight back! Evading ruthless adversaries who will go to any lengths to protect Reverend Artury,  Andie confronts the very definition of sin, shaking the Christian evangelical world to its core.

 

moving-on-when-he-moves-outMoving on After He Moves Out  by Jim Conway, Sally Conway

For every woman who has been left to pick up the pieces of a broken family, the Conways show how to handle anger and fear, face the challenges of single parenting, deal with feelings of failure, relate to family and friends, and come to trust again.

 

 

 

mending-the-soul

Mending The Soul: Understanding And Healing from Abuse
by Steven R. Tracy

Biblically grounded and psychologically informed, Mending the Soul is a first-of-its-kind, comprehensive approach to understanding and treating every form of abuse for: * Pastoral and ministry staff* Small group leaders and youth workers* Educators and seminary students* Pastoral and clinical counselors.

It’s time for the church to recognize the epidemic scale of abuse. Abuse kills. In its different forms—physical, sexual, verbal, spiritual, or neglectful—abuse deadens the emotions, slays self-worth, cripples the mind, even destroys the body. Its victims are legion. They live in your neighborhood, play with your children, and attend your church. In the United States* one in three women will be physically assaulted by an intimate partner.* around 1.5 million children are abused or neglected annually.* at least twenty-five percent of girls experience contact sexual abuse.

But there is hope. God delights in mending shattered souls. However, healing doesn’t come by ignoring the problem of abuse, minimizing its complexities, or downplaying its devastating impact. Healing comes by fully understanding the nature and ramifications of abuse, and by following a biblical path of restoration that allows God’s grace to touch the heart’s deep wounds. Mending the Soul sounds the call and leads the charge. Thorough and accessible, here at last is a unique and powerful resource for understanding and healing victims of abuse.

 

51y5TirEQ6L__SL160_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-dp,TopRight,12,-18_SH30_OU01_AA160_

Downside Up by Tracy Mitchell

A harsh reality of life is that it’s not always enjoyable. Everyone has experienced rejection—whether in the form of hash words, unreciprocated love, loss or betrayal. Most people perceive rejection as a negative occurrence, when, in reality, rejection can be one of the most powerful tools in life.

Downside Up contains step-by-step guides, resources, and inter-active pages necessary to restore lost identity and transform dreams into reality. Downside Up offers wisdom, guidance, and personal application while also outlining and establishing key biblical principles that promote emotional and mental wellness. Readers will:

  • Understand the importance of developing a positive and God-designed self-portrait
  • Identify their life’s purpose and maximize their potential for success
  • Discover the value of godly mentors and other positive relationships
  • Overcome negative thoughts, fear, and lack of self-confidence

Rejection is not about experiencing loss. It is an asset for fulfilling your dreams.